REVIEW: Coffin On Tyres - Red

StonerRocK from France
Coffin On Tyres - Winter Of Life

Here we have another fantastic offering from the French... not only do they have great fries, toast and kissing they also have some fine skills when comes to making music as well. "Coffin On Tyres", (like French toast) dances on the pallet. Delivering groovy riffs, which sounds at time like Badmotorfinger era Soundgarden on valium. Other times likes Kyuss in a boxing match with Danzig. Geoffrey Codants' vocals are stellar, going from a syrupy "Morrison" swagger to a pissed of "Cobain" shriek, depending on the dynamics of the tune. He has one of the best throats I've heard in this genre.

"Red" is a great album that plays well from the beginning thunderstorm intro of "Time Machine" to the somber piano fade out of the last song "Dying Leaves". It's like one long head-trip to nowhere, just floating... letting it take you along for the ride. The production is fantastic, and for a debut from a band just coming on to the scene, and releasing it themselves, its damn near glorious. It's been a long time since I've heard an album recorded this well. It sounds crisp and clean. The drum sound is awesome. The bass rumble is perfect. It's obvious someone knows their way around pro-tools.

"Coffin On Tyres" are way ahead of the curve, and I think with the right backing and wise decision making they could do really well. They definitely have some skills, and a great ear. I think we'll all be hearing a lot more from them in the future. "Red" is one of those rare albums that deserve repeat listens, and will sound just as good in 10 years as it does now. Great job guys! Color me a fan.... and color me "Red".

Reviewed by Adam Walsh

Track List 

01 Time Machine
02 Mexican Standoff
03 Red
04 Winter Of Life
05 Skins
06 Safe Place
07 Obstructed
08 Dying Leaves

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...