Review: Fused - The Obliquity of the Ecliptic

Having been hip to Fused since their debut EP back in 2005, I was pleased to see them back with a full length album. The new offering seems to be going in a different direction than the EP, which had more of desert rock vibe happening. Seems Mr. Perez put away his Kyuss albums and dug out his old 70's vinyl collection and has been rotating them frequently.

"The Obliquity of the Ecliptic" is the title given to the new album by the Seattle band Fused. In our solar system, the Earth's orbital plane is known as the ecliptic, and so the Earth's axial tilt is officially called the obliquity of the ecliptic (who says u can't learn anything from rock 'n' roll?).

Handling all the fretwork, bass, acoustic and electric guitars is Xavier Perez. His chops are definitely in check. Laying down some fine harmonies reminiscent of Thin Lizzy. Especially on the opening track "River of Life". He also tackles the vocals, sounding somewhat like Ian Astbury of The Cult. Drummer David Pinochet has some skills, giving the tunes a solid backbone; I'm guessing he's a fan of Rush, I hear a bit of Neil Peart in there.

If you think you were born too late, and like your new music fused with 70's, 80's and beyond then "The Obliquity of the Ecliptic" is well worth your time. They haven't reinvented the wheel here, but in the grand scheme of things, this is a lot better than anything you'd hear on your local radio stations. Well recorded, well thought out and well done.

Reviewed by Adam Walsh
CD Baby
Agua Fria Records

Track List

01 River of Life
02 Profit Out of Me
03 Logos
04 The One Less Traveled By
05 Solitude
06 Uncertainty
07 Beggars of Pain
08 Gliding
09 The Agondonter
10 Children of Disarray

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...